Tags

, , , , ,

English: Open book icon

English: Open book icon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am in the midst of reading the pre-release of a book by Lucinda Bassett, and I must tell you…this is going to be one of those books I read in a couple of days…without sleep.  I didn’t want to put it down.

I have followed Lucinda’s career for decades, unbeknownst to her.  Lucinda and her husband David offered help for those suffering from stress and anxiety through their Midwest Center for Stress and Anxiety.  She is a nationally acclaimed motivational speaker, a bestselling author, and she has appeared on hundreds of national radio and television programs, including Oprah!, The View, Live with Regis and Kelly, and Robert Schuller’s Hour of Power.  Some major publications include Health, Family Circle, Cosmopolitan Magazine, and the Journal of Clinical Psychology.

Imagine her distress and confusion when her husband and business partner, David, began his own descent into mental instability.  They both worked very hard at getting him back on his feet, so to speak, and trusted psychiatrists who ultimately prescribed medications that were not right for him.

Her story resonates with me for several reasons. I suffered enormous stress, anxiety, and depression at a time when there wasn’t a lot of understanding or help out there.  I was already progressing when I heard of Lucinda’s program, but was comforted by the fact that she was there helping others.  Also, I have a history of suicide in my family.  Those who have read my blog posts have been following that story.  My own brother’s suicide can be attributed to poor care and prescription medication (a lawsuit followed, and his widow won the suit).  I understand the shock, confusion, fear, regret, and the inability to control others’ reactions to a suicide.  It’s all here in Lucinda’s book.

Lucinda is a brave woman.  She always has been.  She has always written from deep emotional experiences of her own as a way to help others.  As soon as she was able to do so, she put herself back out there, turning her tragedy into  a way to help coach others who have been touched by tragedy themselves.  I believe this will be another hit out of the ballpark for Lucinda Bassett.